Some people think that the main purpose of schools is to turn children into good citizens and workers, rather than to benefit them as individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that the main approach of education is leading children to become well-behaved citizens, rather than to bring them benefits as individuals. In my opinion, I totally agree with that viewpoint because of some reasons that I will mention in this essay. First and foremost, the initial aim of schools is to help children with academic knowledge, and then make them become beneficial to society. Almost the time that students spend at school is for learning logical and social subjects which are crucial to cultivating their thinking and behaviour in society in the future. Moreover, this knowledge may be practical in work and help them to get more achievement in their career paths. For example, governments put Physics as a compulsory subject in the education system in each country to improve their learning for students who want to become researchers and engineers and move up the career ladder in the future. Secondly, benefiting students may make them more selfish and self-important in many ways. This means students could be paid more attention at school. However, catering to pupils a lot can bring the sense of being right in most situations, and they may have bad behaviour to improve their opinion. For instance, to protect their opinion, some students may have violence and have some wrong methods to change others' thinking. Meanwhile, teachers may allocate more time to look after their students and may have some difficulty changing their teaching method due to justifying students ' actions if they have any bad behaviour in the education area. In conclusion, I concur that school is the most suitable place where children could study academic information to get success in both career and social fields, instead of benefiting them as they desire. In addition, parents can become their children's partners with the support from schools to help them to acquire more knowledge and not to overprotect them. Thus, they can become good individuals in the future.