Part time courses are on the rise and students are taking them up as an alternative to full time courses. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

There has been a growing trend that individuals are enrolling in part-time courses, especially in higher education. Although part-time takers are required to spend longer in schools, there are significant benefits because it could open education more to various people such as students who have financial problems. First of all, part-time programs require students to stay at school longer than full-time ones. For instance, part-time schoolers in a graduate school basically complete their degree with at least 2 years whereas full-time numbers do in one year. According to an article in the Asahi Shimbun newspaper, potential students in Japan were concerned about this aspect. As a consequence, some are reluctant to take it due to the expected length of the course. However, many universities actually provide a flexible curriculum where course takers are able to complete it earlier. Therefore, this concern is no longer plausible. On the other hand, part-time programs provide a wider opportunity for many individuals who cannot enter full-time classes. These include people who have financial issues or who are already full-time workers. Indeed, recent research conducted by The University of Tokyo reveals that the above-mentioned individuals could start their university lives, thanks to this type of program. Moreover, it also discovered that this could improve their quality of life as, for example, some were promoted in their work because of their new degrees, skills or knowledge bases. Thus, it is obvious this program brings positive outcomes. In conclusion, there could be some drawbacks surrounding part-time studies whereas the advantages of this course outweigh the disadvantages. This is because such courses would open more educational opportunities for many people resulting in improving their quality of life.