Many people no longer read newspapers or watch TV news programmes. Instead they get news about the world from the Internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, the development of information technology has significantly increased over the last decades, and many people prefer to receive information from the Internet rather than from newspapers or TV programs. From my point of view, this change has as positive as negative aspects, and in the following essay, I will explain why. On the one hand, the Internet provides quick access to a wide range of information on various requests for different purposes. To access the world news, people need only a reliable internet connection and choose the source of information. For instance, people can get every type of news by picking up their smartphones, opening a news app or Google search engine, and finding interesting information. In addition, the Internet helps people to keep their fingers on the pulse. On the other hand, people may face incorrect, fake information or scammers, so people need to select trustworthy and legal information sources and be responsible for this. Moreover, many information sources on the Internet don't rank or filter information according to the degrees of cruelty, which can lead to increased stress levels among readers. For example, if something terrible happens in the world and this accident is close to a reader, the reader starts to search for any information about it and can't stop. As a result, people surrounded by informational noise may suffer from permanent anxiety and will force to turn to psychologists to deal with nervousness. In conclusion, people should be more responsible for choosing informational sources and avoid illegal sources to save money and mental health. At the same time, the Internet gives people heaps of beneficial information in their pockets and keeps them up to date with the news. I consider that it is wrong to lose the benefits that the Internet is provided.