Some people think that dangerous sports should be banned. Others, however, believe that people should be free to choose sports activities. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Since ancient Greece, sports have played a central role in human society. Consider the Olympics for example. With the evolution of society and technology, they have also improved, becoming, sometimes, extremely dangerous. Having said that, I disagree that dangerous sports should be banned. This essay analyses some reasons that explain why they should be practised such as the emotions and feelings part that they give and the advancement of technology, which provide more security. First of all, we have to say that dangerous sports are practised by professionals who for the vast part of their time have done training and exercises to achieve ambitious goals in the field. For example, climbing, which is considered dangerous, requires a lot of preparation and training. Those who practise this sport admit that the best part of doing it is the feelings and the emotions that they feel when they can reach the top of the mountain. Furthermore, these adventurers explain that this permits them to feel free and alive and that nothing else can give them this kind of sensation. Thus, we shouldn’t avoid this experience because we cannot have the same adrenaline rush as other activities, even if they are less dangerous. In addition, this kind of extreme recreational time shouldn’t be banned because in this era and age, the technology and consequently the equipment have undergone an enormous evolution in terms of security. Hence, the percentage of mortality or incidents has decreased substantially. For instance, if we think about Formula1, now pilots have clothes that can’t burn and also even if they race at 300km/h the cars are very safe, reducing at minimum the possibility of a fatal crash. To conclude, it is too strict to ban dangerous activities because they are very important for those who practise these sports, for the supporters and for those who have a strong connection not only physically but also emotionally. Moreover, with the advancement of technology, we can always aspect fewer levels of incidents but also the creation of equipment and infrastructure that can prepare athletes for every scenario possible, improving their performance.