The old tradition of a family having a meal together is disappearing. Why do you think is this happening? How does it affect individuals and the community?

There is a radical shift happening in the world, whereby people are adopting new ways of doing things and ignoring the conventional. Among these changes, many families have abandoned the old ritual of eating together, which is caused by changes in family size, and mobile phone addiction, thereby making the individuals and the communities less socially interactive. The first reason triggering this family culture is the proliferation of birth control and the reduction in family size. These days, many families have resorted to having few children, thereby reducing the household volume to an unnoticeable number. For example, conventionally, parents can birth up to 6 children, which obviously makes it fun and refreshing to share a meal together. If fathers consider more births, it might be easier to preserve the old tradition of the family feeding in harmony. Another important pre-cursor is the widespread addiction to mobile phones. Since handsets have become cheap and readily accessible, there has been an upsurge in the number of people who spend long hours on their phones. Another example of this is that a young teenager prefers eating dinner in his room, while playing a game on his mobile device, rather than sitting at the dining to eat with his parents. As a result, individuals have adopted living in isolation, once they are glued to their tablets. Furthermore, food is an important aspect of life as it bonds many blood relatives who eat together often. However, the absence of eating together in many homes will encourage many people to live lonely lives, which can isolate the neighbourhood. As long as individuals continue to do things differently, especially refusing to eat with their parents, it transcends the community through the proliferation of anti-social people. Consequently, affecting the public since every individual emanates from the family. In conclusion, homes should continue to share meals together as it increases their bond. Although factors such as small family capacity and mobile device addiction continue to attack certain cultural heritage in the family and the community at large. Parents should think critically about sustaining their household bond, through regular food sharing.