Schools are no longer necessary because children can get so much information available through the internet, and they can study just as well at home. To what extent do agree or disagree?

The emergence of the internet as a supporting tool for education today has sparked controversy among the public about the necessity of schools. Some may argue that students can access online study via various networking-connected devices at home weakens the role of educational institutions. Personally, I hold an opposite view to the statement due to the following reasons. Admittedly, the world-wide-web has profound impacts on the way people get information. It is straightforward for not only adults but also children to make use of this powerful tool for study thanks to different academic websites and online learning applications. However, even adults cannot completely assure the authenticity of online materials, not to mention young users. The fact that there are hardly any restrictions on the contents posted on the internet can put offspring at risk of being exposed to violent or sexual videos and pictures hidden in advertising forms. In the longer term, it can affect students’ mindset and mental development severely. To illustrate this point, there is a fatal trend called "blue whale" on the internet that disseminates among parents because it encourages gradually their offspring to commit suicide. That is why without proper supervision and tutorial, the internet can be a quite dangerous educational tool, especially for young learners. On the other hand, schools provide a safe and reliable learning environment, which facilitates students’ overall growth with not only knowledge but also soft skills. As each individual learning ability is not the same, some may get advantages from home study, others need teachers’ close instructions to comprehend what they learn. Also, with frequent contact between teachers from school and parents, children’s progress is kept closely informed, which is necessary for their educational attainment. Besides, children have many opportunities to develop their social skills, and team-working skills and expand their relationships when interacting with their friends and teachers, which plays a pivotal role in their future. In conclusion, despite the benefits of online learning, it still can be a substitute for academic institutions. In order to reach academic achievement, schools are still an ideal place for most young people.