More and more people are using computers and electric devices to access information, therefore there is no need for printed books, magazines and newspapers. To what extent do you agree or disagree? (Technology)

Since electronic machines and new technologies have entered humans’ lives to a large extent, some argue that hard copies of books, and journals are not required anymore. This essay intends to examine the pros and cons of stopping traditional publications. Then, it will explain why it disagrees with the claimed notion. The whole society has not been fully detached from printouts. A significant portion of the community consists of elderlies who are not comfortable with computers yet. As a result, they perform a lot of their activities, including reading and following the news, in a primitive manner. In addition, the tendency to use pen and paper is still so common among the young generation. For instance, in university libraries, where everyone has access to PCs, a lot of students use textbooks rather than ebooks. Because they feel more comfortable using palpable resources even though the ebook versions are usually cheaper. Based on these observations, if the classic versions left the market, the average reading time of society would significantly drop. Moreover so many individuals would have a lower efficiency in studying or performing daily tasks. On the other hand, from the environmental perspective, producing fewer papers will lead to keeping more trees alive. In order to print content, papers need to be produced from trees. After all, protecting green areas is essential to deal with global warming. However, there are ways to protect nature without fully moving on to virtual data. For instance, publishers can scale their products with the market demand to avoid waste. Additionally, enhancing recycling methods, and relying more on recycled materials for new prints will lower the speed of deforestation. At the same time, old-fashioned readers will remain satisfied. In summary, since all data is available in a digital form, some believe there is no need for information in a concrete format anymore. However, there are still so many individuals who prefer hard copies. Although it is good to protect nature by reducing the production of wood-based materials there are other ways to protect forests while keeping all users satisfied. Taking everything into consideration, I don’t support the idea that we are at a stage to entirely abandon printouts.