Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A number of plants and animals are on the verge of extinction today. There are multiple reasons that contribute to the loss of wild species like a disturbance in the ecosystem due to the overconsumption of natural resources. Many people argue it to be a primary concern when it comes to environmental issues; however, I believe there are more serious problems like pollution, global warming, and floods. With the increasing population, there is a concern about the over usage of natural resources which in turn badly affects the ecosystem. Because of the unpleasant surroundings, many wild animals and plants are dying today. For instance, chemicals dumped in oceans are harmful to sea animals and many fishes are about to extinct. All these species contribute towards a stable ecosystem, and their extinction can be detrimental to biodiversity. Hence, saving them is one of the important needs of the present time. Conversely, many people feel that other environmental concerns such as global warming, and pollution are major concerns. With the significant increase in air pollutants, society is now more prone to deadly diseases like lung cancer, asthma and heart problems. And not just humans but other species are equally affected. For example, carbon emissions in the air and litter in water bodies are harmful to all living beings. Additionally, global warming and floods have the power of harming a large number of living beings. Therefore, if timely measures are not taken to improve the environment, all species and human beings will become extinct. To conclude, undoubtedly wildlife is an important part of the ecosystem and their protection is necessary but in my opinion, pollution and global warming are more alarming and need urgent attention. If these issues will be controlled, it will minimise the extinction of wildlife species as well. Governments and people will have to work together to overcome these issues in order to have a healthy atmosphere to live in.