As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement ?

Newspapers have always had been the main source of information for many, until the internet became more accessible and rendered newspapers obsolete. This is probably due to the fast-growing potentials of this technology, which allows users to access news content fast, from their own comfort space and for free of charge. I believe that the internet has enabled more people to stay up-to-date than newspapers ever did before. To begin with, newspapers served a very important purpose for the generations before us. For those who lived during times of war, financial crisis and when technology was not peoples’ priority. While such living difficulties were a burden for many, people were very keen to reading and discovering what was going on around them, not just domestically but internationally too. For example, during the WWII Europe suffered a great deal of destruction and civilians only had their local newspapers to receive the information about their neighbouring countries. However, the recent advancements in the internet technology have forced many of us to seek information from our mobile phones, tablets or stationary computers at home. The flow of information online is by far the fastest. One may even set notifications on their smartphone and stay informed instantly. For instance, a very recent earthquake caused massive damages and claimed the lives of many in Turkey requiring international support. Many of my friends managed to gather humanitarian aid for Turkey within a day the incidence had elapsed, this is highlights how fast and far the information can spread via the internet. To recapitulate, indeed newspapers used to be very effective mean of propagating information from person to person. However, technology has undoubtedly opened up a new horizon in the way we receive information. I completely agree that the world has moved forward and that newspaper no longer serve their purpose in the society.