Every country should have a free health service even if this means the latest medical treatment may not be available through the service because they are too expensive. To what extent do you agree or disagree

The issue of whether the government should pay for healthcare expenditures to their citizens, no matter how much the medication cost is, has long been controversial. Although it is obvious that a large proportion of the population may not have enough money to secure health problems, I believe that some of them, but not all, are still able to pay for themselves, as the huge demand for health expenses imposed a heavy burden on society. On one hand, it is clear that everyone should be born equal, regardless of their family and financial background, they should be able to enjoy complete medication if they got sick. For some undeveloped countries, there is always news stating that people in poverty with simple illnesses died because of insufficient government support and delayed treatment because of lacking money, where they have to borrow money from their relatives and neighbours. If the authority did provide subsidies to public health, the problem would have been alleviated. On the other hand, public funds should be made use of effectively and wisely. As they came from taxpayers, the government should exert itself to improve the quality of living, which is not solely focused on the healthcare system. Other than medical welfare, other needs such as national security and education are also important for a country to function properly. The government should allocate resources fairly, for instance, the rich who can afford their medical expenditures should pay for themselves. Otherwise, the financial burden would be too heavy if the government provide free treatment to all their citizens. To conclude, the issue of public health is of paramount importance that the government should take into account all aspects to deal with. I do not agree that people in all countries should have free health services, not only would it impose a financial burden on the government, but it would also lead to a lack of focus on other essential public needs.