Some people think that the best way to succeed in life is to get a university education, while others disagree and say that it is no longer true nowadays. Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

Obtaining a university degree has long been seen as an inevitable step in achieving success in life and a level of professionalism needed to work for prominent companies. Although earning a bachelor's or master's degree may contribute to career progression, I believe it does not guarantee a prosperous life. Universities are losing their significance in forming a good life because the quality of education they offer is on the decline these days. In contrast to the past, when educational institutions were owned solely by governments, the majority today are governed by private organisations. Driven by financial benefits, many private universities often acquire inexpensive yet unprofessional instructors. This results in students not obtaining the supposed level of knowledge and expertise. Furthermore, the competition among private universities is substantially low, allowing students to get admitted regardless of their previous academic excellence. Such a mixture of excellent and non-excellent students leads to a decreased overall performance of classes due to low-achieving students bringing high-achievers towards their level. Moreover, due to the ease with which a university degree can be obtained, contemporary organisations increasingly seek applicants who can demonstrate rich extracurricular activity. Such experiences as volunteering, previous projects and work experience have become a more dominant value to organisations than a diploma. For example, when a company employs a software engineer, it usually looks for finished websites or software in an applicant's resume. Thus, to succeed in their career, individuals need to put more effort than just finishing studies at a university level. In a nutshell, a university education is still a relevant achievement nowadays. However, I would argue that a diploma no longer has a life-changing value and instead has become evidence of literacy.