Some people believe that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars or motorcycles. Others, however, argue that there are better ways to improve road safety. Discuss both views and give your own opinion?

Recently, there has been renewed discussion regarding the minimum legal age for driving cars and motorcycles due to increases in the frequency and mortality of driving-related accidents. Many advocates for raising the minimum driving age, while others argue that there are better ways to address this particular issue. I will examine both viewpoints in the following essay and explain why I agree with the latter. As a testimony to the fact that those who are younger than 18 are also too young to drive, advocates of altering the eligibility criteria point out the comparatively high frequency of accidents caused by young drivers; this can be further corroborated by the fact that states with more stringent requirements, such as Ontario, Canada; California, and Bavaria, Germany, experience fewer car collisions. Admittedly, such an approach has historically proven effective; however, the extent of its efficacy should further be examined. Conversely, those who believe the former method is an ineffective and disproportionate answer to a problem that can be resolved through more effective means suggest that education and heavy fines are the primary causes of lower road accident rates. It is evident that hefty fines and stringent punishment for those who drive under the influence, for example, are proven to be most effective in preventing recidivism; these punishments can include significant financial penalties and revoking the right to drive for a limited time. Additionally, a more comprehensive driving education system, in conjunction with a longer and more challenging process for obtaining driving licenses, can result in fewer crashes and more responsible drivers in general. In conclusion, there are many reasons to believe either approach is effective, even though determining which one imposes less cost on logistics and supply chains might be a less straightforward matter. From my perspective, an increased age limit might not be the most efficient, but the most costly of all alternatives.