In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasis that their products are new in some ways. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It has been observed that many companies nowadays tend to focus on the novelty of their products on numerous marketing channels. In this essay, I will primarily discuss the main reasons and draw my opinion about this strategy. To begin with, it is undeniable that by advertising something new, brands can get more attention from their customers. This is because individuals are usually interested in the most trendy and latest product versions which are always presumably better and more innovative than the old ones they already got. Therefore, advertisements on the new features will provide clients with information which they may feel fascinated with, stimulating them to quickly decide to buy. For instance, a great number of Vietnamese people are big fans of iPhones and always arouse about the newest model. Hence, they do not hesitate to queue in a long line on the launching date to get the latest version. Additionally, emphasizing the newest qualities of the product enables companies to be recognized as pioneers in their industry. Thanks to this strategy, enterprises can improve their sales volume which in turn leads to higher revenue and profits. Although this approach seems to be considerably beneficial to businesses, it is criticized to bring certain disadvantages. Firstly, some features which are advertised as new are not really significant and even meaningless. For example, while the iPhone 14 was introduced with an expectation to be superior to other older versions, many users evaluated that its design and functions are not too different from that of the iPhone 13. However, buyers still need to pay a higher price to get the lasted model. In other words, there is a waste of the purchaser’s money. Secondly, this strategy also causes a waste of natural resources. The main reason is that when the newest versions are launched, the older ones are usually thrown away, leading to a large amount of rubbish which in turn creates considerable harm to the environment. To be more specific, a statistical report shows that nearly 85% of electronic waste is sent to landfill and burned and released toxins into the atmosphere. In conclusion, attracting more customers and achieving a pioneer position in the market are two main factors motivating companies to spend more budget on advertising the novelty of their products. Personally, I firmly believe that this strategy is a negative approach in terms of buyers being misled and causing environmental problems.