Some people believe that competitive sports, both team and individual, have no place in the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Physical education is always every student’s favorite subject. Students view PE as the most relaxing and active subject because they will play sports during the lessons. Many people think that there is no room for sports in the school curriculum and it is a fact that most schools still priorities other subjects, activities more than sports. In my perspective, every student should choose a sport which they are interested in to play and it can be accounted as an extra curriculum activity. Sports are getting more important in every school ’s curriculum as they want their students to be active not just only to be an academic achiever. Most of the sports require teamwork so it is a great opportunity for students to develop their social skills. For instance, one of my friends who is currently studying aboard in the USA told me that every semester she required to pick a sport to play because it is a part of her school ’s curriculum. Furthermore, a lot of students even though they struggle to achieve high grades at school but they are really good at sports so if sports become more important, those students can focus more on their strengths without worrying too much about their grades. Senior and Junior students in the USA have the choice to choose to focus on rather academically or actively in order to apply for universities. Sports are not just for fun but if students are good at it they can actually focus on doing it. In contrast, most of schools around the world are still prioritizing academic subjects more than sports and they do not view sports that anything really important. Consequently, most students will still have to focus more on academic subjects at school and it is a drawback for students who are passionate and good at playing sports. Being good at academic subjects is still something essential because the purpose of students go to school is to learn. Overall, students should be able to balance out between academic subjects and sports. Schools should consider making sports more important as it helps students to have more opportunity to develop social and practical skills.