some people believe that the only purpose of films is to entertain. But others say films should have educational value. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this contemporary epoch, it is a hotly-debated issue that movies should just cater for recreational needs, while others think that they should inform as well as entertain. I am of the opinion that the film industry should not simply be a source of entertainment. On the one hand, there is no denying the fact that nowadays many people watch films solely in order to be entertained. Following the trend, a lot of films have been created without any other advantage such as education but entertainment. When many companies are just focusing on the income that a film could make, educational purpose is no longer a key priority in some movies today. Therefore, this led to a significant increase of trash contents in the film industry. On the other hand, I firmly agree with the view that movies should be instructive and entertaining at the same time because many other values could be expanded through it. Take the Sex Education series for example, this Netflix series also includes life lessons, communicate methods through daily life contents. These kinds of movies can render several benefits in educating the young generations. In other words, a movie with high quality content could gain more attention from every individual including international viewers. Beside entertaining, adding more education values could make the movie has more social value and push it to another level in the film industry. To encapsulate, from the aforementioned points, it is my strong reaffirmation that beside the obviously amusable benefits, their purpose should also be able to widen people’s horizon about the life.