some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, school is the place to learn this. Disscuss both views and give your own opinion.

In order to be a good member of any humanity the individual must respect and obey the rules of their society and share its values. While it is widely acknowledged that parents should teach these rules and values, i would strongly argue that schools also need to accept some responsibility. Without a doubt, parents play a pivotal role in the upbringing of Scion. In the first four or five years, both the mother and father are the major role models for their child, who copy the behaviour they see on a daily basis. It is in this formative period that vital skills and habits are taught, such as the ability to speak and eat to name but two. In my mind, parents also have the responsibility to teach what is important in life and what is expected of offspring in the association they live in. It seems to me, however, that learning to understand and share the value system of a whole association cannot be achieved just at home. Once a child goes to school, they enter a wider community where teachers and peers have just as much influence as parents do. They are exposed to youngsters from different backgrounds and beliefs and through study, play and interaction offspring learn how to cooperate and co-exist. Surely, these are necessary skills for any association. In conclusion, the education of offspring should not only be about learning information and basic skills but also teaching the next generation how to be active and productive members of the community. It is essential that both parents and schools help achieve this.