In many cities, the use of video cameras in public places is being incresed in order to reduce crime,but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Discuss benefits and advantages and give your opinion.

To reduce criminal activity, some countries have installed video cameras in public areas, however, this is limiting the individual's privacy. In my opinion, installing more CCTV cameras can actually prevent most people from committing a crime which I will discuss below along with merits and demerits. The crime rate can be controlled by putting video cameras in public places. People will be under surveillance all the time, then they will be reluctant to make any offence. They have a sense of fear that they will get caught and can be punished. For example, in shopping malls, individuals who visit stores will be scared to make offensive moves because they are being watched by cctv cameras. Moreover, if people lose their valuable items, they can easily see the cameras at any time and can find their items. Hence, putting video cameras is advantageous to save any property. On the other hand, not all committers are scared of making illegal actions. Because offenders make smart moves in hiding their identities which makes it difficult for detectors to locate them. This will also prevent detectives from giving punishment to them. For instance, in Fairview Mall, criminals broke into a jewellery store where they stole expensive jewellery items, though there were CCTV cameras but Police were unable to do anything. Therefore, the perception of CCTV camera installation cannot fully stop any crime. To conclude, although the introduction of CCTV cameras is increasing to ensure the reduction of offence, this will hinder investigators from finding the location of criminals because of their hiding identities.