Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on people concerned and on society as whole?

Nowadays, illiteracy has been assumed to be a worrying issue with possible influences on the modern world. The origin of this situation seems to derive from two main factors and a variety of widely-observed impacts on society and people appear to be open to us, which we will discuss here. Perhaps, the major factor is destitution and poor economic condition. Families with difficulties making ends meet would prefer to spend their income on their basic needs. For instance, preparing food, clothes, and rental payments are much more prioritized than buying books or paying for academic education. Therefore, like the parents, children are also expected to work and assist their families, making them neglect to be literate. Another root might be the government and a mal-functioned infrastructure for education and literacy. By this, we mean that citizens would be motivated to gain the ability to write and read, provided that they profit from numerous educational amenities. Moreover, a lack of facilities, such as the inadequate number of properly-trained teachers and insufficient provision of schools, could augment a country's illiteracy rate. Turning to possible effects, the perpetuation of illiteracy leads to heavy and often tragic consequences for society via cultural poverty and lack of specialists, meaning that the higher the rank of illiteracy gets, the lower the amount of experts becomes. For example, should the government retrieve the absence of professionals, a great amount of the budget would be dedicated to hiring foreign specialists. Secondly, the effects of illiteracy on people themselves shouldn’t be underestimated. In addition, citizens who cannot write and read would suffer a lot from low self-esteem, isolation, lower earning, poorer health, and even higher incarceration rates. To conclude, among the various factors, indigence and poor-functioned education seem to be the main causes of illiteracy. It seems advisable that this issue has become a major burden on society by forcing extra expenses, and citizens also are not exceptional for tolerating traumatic effects on their lives.