Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is becoming increasingly common that some youth use their mobile phones for hours every day. This essay will look at the reasons behind this development and in my opinion, the fact that this phenomenon brings more disadvantages than advantages. To begin with,the main reason why kids use mobile phones for a longer time is because there are more and more functions on mobile phones than before. As a result, smart mobile phones are not only helping children to search for the knowledge and news that they want, but also contain interesting social media and games, while students do not have a long time for entertainment,so they get addicted to these electronics because they can have fun easily and quickly on the internet. However, The drawbacks of young people using smartphones for long times every day are always more than it benefits first of all,using mobile phones too much will affect children‘s health.The most important problem is that mobile phones will cause harm to their eyes so that they can not see the objects around them clearly and must be wearing glasses. This will make their life inconvenient. For instance,a research group once do research on students in a middle school and found that the longer these students used their mobile phones, the worse their eyesight they have. Secondly,smartphones will distract students and may have a negative impact on their academic performance.There is not only free knowledge on mobile phones but also more attractive other things, such as games and short videos. These things will distract them and make them unable to focus on their study. in conclusion,from my perspective, youth love mobile phones because of their interesting functions. The phone would cause negative effects on their physical health and academic performance.