In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, overpopulation in capital cities has long been a subject of considerable controversy and debate in a lot of countries. Some people contend this issue can lead to a positive influence on our society, however, I do not consider it to be optimistic. In this essay, I will elaborate on the reasons why I think it is a negative development. First of all, this phenomenon can hinder the development of rural areas. Residents in contryside move to the urban areas more and more compared to the past to get job opportunities or to reap convenience facilities in cities. Consequently, this causes to accelerate population concentration in capital sites. As this happens, the government tends to focus on development, which produces jobs, companies, and accommodations including public transportation in only urban areas, as the rural areas have been showing of decreasing workforce due to reducing population. On top of that, as population density has risen in big cities, the areas have undergone several significant negative impacts. First, it is tough to control increasing the number of city dwellers for law enforcement. It will result in an increase in the crime rate sharply. Second, a myriad of facilities and companies will be constructed to accept all people coming to the cities. Hence, it will induce air pollution as well as produce a bunch of wastes, which lead to severe detrimental environmental matters. Finally, according to these reasons mentioned above, the quality of individuals' lives will go lower. In conclusion, it seems to me that the issue's drawbacks far outweigh its potential benefits, owing to the reasons described above. Thus, I consider it as a negative development.