In many countries, plastic shopping bags are the main source of rubbish. They cause water and land pollution, and so they should be banned. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

In a contemporary world where ecology has become a central concern, the harmful effects of plastic bags cannot be overseen. It already started demonstrating its impacts by polluting the seas, natural places, tourist attractions and even the atmosphere. Although a wide array of its practical applications and cheap cost may speak in favour of preserving plastic bags, I would argue that its usage should be prohibited and substituted with eco-friendly alternatives. Plastic bags are incredibly detrimental to the environment. When left in natural places or underwater, they take long years to decompose. For example, plastic material dissolves in a minimum of ten years compared to paper, which completely blends with the ground in approximately two years. It should also be mentioned that, exposed to a fire, plastic bags harm the atmosphere. When any plastic material is burnt, it produces harmful chemicals, which are then released into the air. These chemicals are highly toxic to a human's health, outweighing any other toxins' effects. However, it should be recognised that plastic bags are remarkably practical and cheap to purchase. Add to that the easiness of their manufacturing process plastic bags become an irreplaceable part of daily life. Yet, there are already some eco-friendly alternatives that, despite being slightly more expensive, do not bare negative consequences for the environment at all. For instance, paper bags are one of the most trending substitutes for plastic bags; they are lightweight and easy to manufacture. To conclude, plastic bags are one of the primary threats to the environment nowadays, and if not replaced, humans may have to deal with significant problems in the future. In my opinion, plastic bag usage should be banned on a global level and substituted with more efficient alternatives.