In some countries, more and more people are hiring personal fitness trainers, rather than playing sports or doing exercise classes What is the reason for this Is this a positive or negative development

Health is wealth, little wonder lots of people are now making a conscious effort to live healthy and one of the ways of achieving it is through regular exercise. It has however been observed that people now opt for personal fitness trainers as against playing sports or partaking in exercise classes. In this essay, we will analyze this shift in tradition and its impact. It used to be the convention for individuals to indulge in sports or join exercise classes as a means of ensuring they stay fit, like football, table tennis, lawn tennis, or gym class, usually involving two or more persons participating in some routine activities. For example, in the gym class, a specified time is spent on the trade mill, on push up, and squats, and supervised by one or more instructors. While it is effective at ensuring the burning off of calories, it has some difficulties; the trainer is unable to pay adequate attention to individuals, and may not serve the need of people with special fitness requirements. The shortfall in the exercise classes has prompted a shift to engaging the services of personal instructors, as they are now able to pay adequate attention to the individual, and design programs which specifically suit him/her, helping him attend the desired fitness level. For example, Manchester United football club of England had to engage the services of a personal fitness trainer who designed a training program for Jason Sancho and put him through sections, helping him attend the level required by the club. In my opinion, the shift is a positive development as it has helped lots of people attend a health status that they would not have achieved with the sport exercise programs. In conclusion, every form of exercise has its benefits, but using personal professionals ensures these benefits are maximized.