Some people think it's better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Other people believe its good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The importance of friends in an individual's life cannot be over-emphasized. Some people might believe it is best to have friends who have similar points of view as them, while others feel it is important to have friends who do not agree with them. In this essay, I will discuss both ideologies to express my thought on the matter. To begin with, we have individuals who will rather have companions who have the same mind that they have. For instance, there are individuals who say they cannot have any form of friendship with people who do not share the same religious belief with them. This is because they believe being friends with an unbeliever will have a bad influence on them. For example, a lady who goes to church regularly and is later influenced by a friend who does not and she ends up copying certain habits. That is why these people think it is better to have friends who think like them. On the other hand, there is a set of people who are of the opinion that it is a great idea to have friends who are not of like minds. As humans, we all need that person who will tell us the truth about a situation whether we agree with it or not. These are the people who when there is an issue give you an alternative idea in contrast to what you already believe. For example, a lady who tried to make a career decision in changing jobs only because the pay was better, thereby ignoring every other factor, but her friend does not agree with her decision and gives her reasons why. In this situation, we all need that one friend who will tell us the truth regardless of the circumstance. In conclusion, every individual should have a mix of both categories of friends, as they will all be needed at different phases of our lives.