More and more people today are drinking sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons for this? What are the solutions?

Nowadays, carbonated beverages are being drunk by a vast number of individuals. In fact, there are two compelling reasons for this, which is their low cost and their easy access to the general public. However, there are two effective remedies that could tackle these issues. Firstly, the government could increase the taxes on carbonated drinks and, similarly, restrict them in schools and workplaces. This essay will further elaborate on the reasons and the solutions to this phenomenon. It has been observed that sugary drinks have been consumed in recent times by a lot of people due to the fact that they are inexpensive than other beverages. Hence, the majority of the households would stock up in bulk. In addition, these types of sweet drinks are readily available to the general public. Take Jamaica, for instance, sodas and other sugar-based drinks can be purchased in any shop and even at the gates of schools. However, to combat these problems, beverages with added sugars and sweeteners should be heavily taxed. As a result, the number of consumers will be reduced significantly. Also, they should be utterly restricted from school canteens and the vending machines in the working environment because these unhealthy drinks are what entice the majority. However, it is for this reason, this restraint will reduce the consumption of sugary-based drinks. For example, during a 2023 Coca-Cola yearly budget reading, it was reported that there was an overwhelming decline in their sales after their products were pulled from the schools' cafeterias and workplace vending machines. In Conclusion, there are two main reasons why a lot of people have been drinking glucose-based beverages recently. In fact, these unhealthy products are being sold at a cheaper price in comparison to healthy beverages. Furthermore, they can be purchased anywhere and anytime. Therefore, taxes on carbonated drinks should be increased and they should also be removed from school lunches and workplaces to resolve these issues.