Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The inclusion of art in the school's curriculum has been a controversial topic. It should not be considered part of the education is thinking of some people while the opponents say that it is an essential subject. This essay will discuss both views and put forward reasons why I agree with the latter view. On the one hand, music and dance are dominated by other subjects like science and mathematics because these play an important fundamental role in building a career. For example, scientists earn more than artists who are often homeless or struggle to make a living. Clearly, STEM subjects are a vital part of syllabi as these are the foundation for a successful life. If these are taken away from the education system, then students will be left with almost nothing to study. On the other hand, craft is a beautiful representation of a variety of cultures and traditions which if not taught will lose its significance. Van Gogh a famous artist, for instance, would have not existed if he did not nurture his talent in his early years of life. Certainly, many potential future dancers, musicians and artists will not know their natural talent if the syllabus will not include these subjects. Therefore, it is crucial to teach the young generation so that they could grow in this field. In my opinion, the scope might be limited but if craft is taken away from the curriculum the talent will soon fade away which needs to be nurtured by the educators in the first place. Youngsters will not be able to learn about our culture and traditions which are mainly represented by art. To conclude, art should not lose its brilliance and young ones should definitely learn about it. Although other subjects should be treated equally important, the craft should be eliminated from the education system.