There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Students nowadays are under a lot of pressure to achieve academic success in order to get into a good university or secure a well-paid job. For this reason, some people argue that schools need to focus on academic and vocational subjects and should therefore not be taught at schools. I would argue that while academic skills are important, schools need to teach a wide range of both academic and craft-based subjects. Firstly, a school should not only be about teaching academic topics but a wider range of life skills so that children can join society when leaving school. Practical courses can help to teach these crafts to children. For example, physical education teaches youngsters how to work as part of a team and also the importance of being healthy. Furthermore, if cookery is taught then they would learn a great deal about health and nutrition. Secondly, academic topics are not of equal importance for all students. There is the possibility of including more practical non-academic subjects on the syllabus like woodwork, textile design and computing skills. If they study these subjects students will increase their employment prospects which could help them to secure employment when they leave school. It is important to remember that not all students will continue to higher education and school needs to enable those learners to find work. Finally, too much pressure should not be put on young people. Taking part in non-academic courses like art, music or drama gives these youngsters the opportunity to be creative. This could help them to manage stress degrees and have more productive in other areas. In conclusion, I would argue that although academic disciplines are important, they should not be the only focus of an institutional syllabus. There are a number of benefits to teaching non-academic topics.