University lecturers are now able to put their lectures on the internet for students to read and so the importance of attending face-to-face lec- tures has been reduced. Do you believe that the use of the internet in formal education is a good idea?

The Internet has become inevitable in accessing information and communication in today's world. It is applied in almost all the aspects of life hence education is not an exception. University lecturers have started uploading lectures on World Wide Web. According to me, it is a welcome step however, it does not seem to serve the genuine purpose of classroom education Usage of the Internet cannot be advantageous for a majority of students in many ways. Firstly, the Internet is a one-way communication. Thus, it creates a passive type of learning atmosphere and science has already proved that passive learning cannot yield fruitful results. Furthermore, studying lectures on the Internet cannot give the charm of a classroom environment where a lecturer can solve the difficulties of students and increase their level of understanding. Eventually, the Internet requires computers and electricity which can be expensive for many students. In addition to this, the system itself offers some drawbacks i.e. sitting against the computer screen for longer hours is not good for our eyes and back. Next, it is only a visual media that ends up making the study mechanical and stereotypical. Consequently, it reduces the student's interest in the study. On the other hand, learning lectures on Internet offers some advantages. Learners can be attended to and viewed by so many people who cannot come physically to the classroom, for example: disabled students, working professionals and foreign aspirants. Moreover, it provides convenience; they can study at their ease and can use navigational tools on the computer to browse through the whole document. Therefore, it may save time for going to the university. To conclude, I believe that the Internet is useful in many ways. It may be used extensively in future. However, it is certainly not the best way of imparting education as it has more drawbacks than benefits.