People in many countries are spending less time with their family. What are the reasons, and effects of this?

It is quite common nowadays as parents prefer to allocate the majority of their time to work instead of their family. In this essay, we will discuss the causes of this phenomenon as well as its impacts. There are several factors contributing to this issue, most notable are long working hours and high living costs in urban areas. Regarding the former, modern companies often demand employees to prioritize their work above all else, therefore resulting in frequent overtime sessions. For example, Japan is well-known for its dedication to work and they consider working past regulated hours as the trait of an excellent worker. Besides their morning job, most people usually have a second job as their basic salary can barely cover their basic needs in big cities. This drives people to spend their spare time earning extra money, leaving them no time for their families. If this situation progress, various problems can arise and cause severe consequences. Firstly, children would feel distanced and abandoned as their parents are away. Ultimately, they would end up with poor school performance and fear of abandonment. Subsequently, this would lead to children being subjected to violence and other crimes. Several cases have been reported in many nations and their crime rate is increasing rapidly. This can be also traced back to the lack of parental guidance, which leads to exposure to toxic content on the internet, hence their tendency to involve in criminal activities. In conclusion, costly expenditures and the extension of working hours are the culprits for the shortage of family time. As a consequence, this leaves children vulnerable to mental disorders and bad influences, thus increasing the crime rate.