Nowadays everywhere in the world has multicultural societies, in which there is a mixture of different ethnic people. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

At present, it is evident that a mixture of different ethnicities can be found in all parts of the world which eventually leads to societies with diverse cultures. Clearly, people can live harmoniously and discover many new things in such an environment, nevertheless, there are a number of drawbacks that can be noted owing to this phenomenon. One clear advantage of multicultural societies is that people can live harmoniously together. In the past, there were many incidents which have been highlighted in history books where people hated each other because of their ethnicity or race. At that time, they were so many fights leading to casualties and death. For example, in Malaysia, one of the darkest episodes in Malaysian history was the 13th of May 1969 when the three main races, Malay, Chinese and Indian had fought due to political division leading to disastrous effects on the country. Nevertheless, after the Incident, the government put a lot of effort to ensure that all these races lived together and connected to one another. Hence, today, Malaysia is one of the countries in the world that symbolizes unity as all three races are connected to one another. Secondly, the existence of multiple societies has also led to mixed marriages. In other words, most families these days accept any of their family members to get married to anyone whose ethnicity is completely different from theirs. Because of this, people have started to accept one another and appreciate each other's culture with an open heart. Nevertheless, there are a number of disadvantages that can be noted. One obvious problem with such existence is that people can get confused easily. When many ethnicities lives in the same place together, the younger generation will lose their identity because they will start to follow each other's lifestyle and customs. Sometimes, a dominant culture in a place will be practised widely, whereas the least practised one will extinct. For instance, an Indian who lives in Saudi Arabia might start adapting to the Arabic culture, and they will be excellent at the Arabic language in both written and verbal form, but they might not be excellent at their mother tongue due to the environment that they are in. Another possible issue of this is that people will lose their unique features. When mixed marriages are prevalent, the physical features of some ethnicities will disappear. This will clearly be a downside especially if this will be practised for many years to come. To sum up, while there are some advantages of multicultural societies, they can also lead to identity confusion and the disappearance of features.