In the future, people may no longer be able to pay things in shops using cash. All payments may have to be made by card or using phone. Do you think this will happen one day? Why do you think some people might not be happy to give up using cash?

People have different views as to whether people may not be allowed to pay for goods in stores by cash and whether all payments must be done by card or electronic devices. In my opinion, this trend will definitely occur in the near future and there are various reasons why some individuals would oppose such an idea. There are two main reasons why this trend is becoming more realistic soon. Firstly, several stores in big cities around the world already accepted alternative methods of payment. To be more illustrate, some businesses, in Japan, do not allow their employee to touch the money, which discourages workers from stealing it. Secondly, in this generation, young people do not carry cash around from place to place, and they prefer to use cards or online payments instead. For example, I only leave a certain amount of money in my wallet for an urgent matter and always make a payment via phone. Moreover, it is commonly believed that elderly people might not be happy with this idea. The first contributing factor to this is that they are not comfortable with new technology since not all of them would be interested in learning new forms of payments. For instance, my grandmother refuses to register for online banking as it is difficult to understand. Secondly, it is easy for a scammer to lure or persuade elderly people to trust, which ends up with the older people transferring money to them. For example, recently, there has been a variety of news relating to this type of criminal activity in Thailand, causing millions of baht. In conclusion, I genuinely believe that this approach will exist soon in the short future, and the older generation would not be happy with this for the given reasons.