Some think secondary and high school students should be allowed to choose academic courses leading to university or practical courses leading to careers such as carpenters. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Choosing the right career path is often discussed with students at the secondary and high school levels. This is the year that they have to decide what program they wanted to pursue in the next higher education. In my opinion, students should have the voice to select the academic courses they believe they will excel in and help them prepare for entering university with the guidance of their parents and teachers. Firstly, allowing the students to select the subject based on their capabilities and specialization helps them excel in their craft. For example, student who excels and loves mathematics can easily choose a program in engineering or science. On the other hand, the student who barely liked those subjects may be more inclined to arts and literature. Secondly, university degree subjects are more complex and difficult that focus on specific careers hence a pre-requisite subject must be taken by the students. These requirements should be offered at secondary and high school levels as preparation for their next studies. For medical technology aspirants for instance, additional chemistry subjects can be taken to prepare them more on the university level. Additionally, the choices of the students can also be discussed with their parents and school advisors for better guidance. The students decision about the subject they select has a great impact on the succeeding level of education. In conclusion, I strongly agree that students should be given the opportunity to select the subjects they need as preparation for their college and university degrees.