In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In some countries, children are taught that they can get everything if they have dedication. However, by implementing that approach, there are both benefits and drawbacks that need to be taken into account. It is undoubtedly certain that juveniles may feel motivated if they can achieve whatever they want through their dedication. Therefore, they become enthusiastic to set goals for their life, resulting in ambitious people. Having ambitions is really vital for adolescents since ambitions can encourage them to move forward and give directions for future prospects. As an example, when I was young, I used to be a student who wanted to be a doctor while believing that I could be a doctor one day by putting effort into my study. Thus, I was always enthusiastic and learnt passionately in order to fulfil my dream. With the help of the belief that everyone can achieve their goals by putting effort, children can spend their life meaningfully. Although they face failure, this belief can help them to try again without giving up. Therefore, parents should explain to their offspring that being hardworking is a key to fulfilling their dreams. On the other hand, in our society, some resources are required to achieve our objectives. For instance, even though my friend used to be passionate about singing and wanted to be a singer, her parents could not support her financially due to their hardships. Finally, she had to give up her ambition and applied for a job at a particular company in order to get money for her living. Therefore, there are some examples that only dedication cannot help to complete goals. Even though children have tried severely and their goals are not completed, they can have emotional damage and are afraid to have another aim. Being depressed can destroy a person’s life brutally. That’s why it should not be said to children that everything can happen if they try seriously. In conclusion, there are pros and cons to giving hope to children since some of them can happen whereas some cannot. If things do not happen according to their expectations, they may be depressed. In contrast, having hopes can bring meaning to their life.