Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case? And what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

It is noticeable that museums and historical sites can attract more foreign visitors than local residents. In the following essay, I will explain The factors that cause this phenomenon and some solutions to attract more local residents. To begin with, the majority of travellers tend to be more interested in discovering others' history and culture due to they are not familiar with them, therefore visiting museums and historical spots is an efficient way to gain knowledge from other countries. Secondly, most local residents already have a basic knowledge of their historical identity and culture, so they have less interest to discover more deeply about their history. Last but not least, for the dwellers, The museums or historical sites from their country will stay there for a long time. In addition, they have plenty of time to visit those places. There are several ways to appeal to local residents’ interest to attend those historical sites. Firstly, the local government of the venue can advertise more frequently on the website or media to remind the population of their national or local section is also meant to visit. For example, the local government can invite some celebrities or influencers to take part in their promotional videos, in this case, it can increase the number of local visitors. Moreover, those attractions should allow some events to hold, such as weddings, performances, or festivals. It could make those participants more likely to know more about those sites since they arrive at the location. In conclusion, it is true that most of the local population is not interested in their local spot compared to foreigners. However, there are still some measures that can be taken to attract more local visitors.