Tourism has increased so much over the last 50 years that it is having a mainly negative impact on local inhabitants and the environment. However, others claim that it is good for the economy. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism and give your own opinion.

Tourism is always a debatable issue. Some believe that it has brought negative effects on local residents and the environment, while others think that it is beneficial for the economic growth of the country. This essay will look into the advantages and disadvantages of tourism and will state my opinion as well. Firstly, one of the primary advantages of tourism is the economic upliftment. It paves the way for revenue generation which makes the country more developed. For instance, studies show that Countries that promote tourism have better wealth and amenities. Moreover, it can generate more employment opportunities for the local people residing near tourist destinations. Although there are merits to tourism, the negative impacts on nature and people cannot be ignored. The construction for tourism has destroyed the natural habitats of locals and animals. For example, a few years ago residents near a tourist destination were forced to leave their houses to build more establishments for further expansion of a tourist spots. Furthermore, the upcoming new buildings and developments have paved the way for soil erosion and landslides in hilly areas. Therefore, the tourist industry not only caused harm to the public but also to the environment. In my opinion, while tourism brings substantial revenue to the country, harmful effects on local people and nature cannot be neglected. Sustainable tourism should be more focused on combating the detrimental effects of tourism. Government should promote eco- tourism by investing more funds thereby creating more eco-friendly facilities without disturbing the natural habitat. To conclude, the tourism sector is one of the major areas for the country's development. While it boosts economic development and brings a lot of job opportunities, it can also harm the environment and disrupt the local community. A balanced and sustainable approach is critical to tackle these issues related to tourism and maximize the positives of it.