Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example, working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

Some people argue that unpaid community service should be made mandatory in high schools. I completely agree with this point of view because doing this service helps children more confident and also creates opportunities for them to discover goals in life. Volunteering helps children build self-confidence. Some children are not good at academic subjects, and thus may feel inferior to their peers. Teaching singing or painting to younger children, for example, offers them chances to use their unique talents. When they see these children improving under their coaching, they would feel that they are also worthy individuals. Even those with the best academic abilities would become more self-assured because volunteering would give them a sense of pride in their other talents. In addition, serving their communities helps children find aims in life. Many of them do not know why they have to go to school every day to learn subjects they do not even like. Volunteering, however, gives them opportunities to discover meaningful things that cannot be found in academic classes. For example, by helping a local nonprofit distribute food to the poor, some children may become very compassionate toward them and want to grow up to become people who can solve the world’s hunger problem. Once they have this goal in mind, they would even become passionate about the school subjects that can help them achieve it. In conclusion, by taking part in unpaid community service, children can increase their self-confidence and also find things they want to strive for. Thus, this service should be compulsory for them.