nowadays, a lot of offices have open-space designs instead of seperate rooms. do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages ?

In many enterprises' offices, having taken many elements into consideration, many decided to have an open-space design, while others provide their employees with private rooms to work in. In my opinion, a public working space will not offer any more advantages outweighing separate rooms, but, instead, it may contribute to the reduction of workers' productivity. Firstly, when sharing an open space, job participants may be easily influenced by the smallest noise made by their co-workers. Taking those companies with customer services for example, most of their employee is dealing with hundreds of phone calls every hour, while there is certainly not only one department serving customers in the company, other people with the task of writing projects or human resources managing may lose their concentration because of the constantly ringing-up phone. Secondly, as the labourers are also human beings, being put under the monitor of cameras all over the work time is extremely stressful. There must be times they hope to take a quick nap, drink a bit of water, and savour small snacks during the acceptable period of time to release their stress. Appropriate rest will allow the workers to be more engaged in the tasks later on. Therefore, the existence of a purely individual area is important. In conclusion, even though an open working space may help the manager to have his workers' working status under control, it does not enhance their work quality. Only a suitable and comforting condition guaranteeing private spaces can provoke better task achievements.