Some people spend most of their lives living close to where they were born. What might be the reasons for this? What are the advantages and disadvantages ?

It is believed that living near your birthplace helps to keep your culture alive and pass it on to the next generations. In the following paragraphs, we will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of staying close to where we were born and the reasons for this. Many people are the sole bread earners in their families and, due to this dependency, they never think about leaving their homes for better opportunities. Moreover, some of them have businesses like manufacturing factories which cannot be moved which leads to restricting people from leaving their town. Staying close to where we were born keeps our network strong. To explain further, if we want to set up a shop or small industry, we already have all the resources or we know the connection from where we can get everything which will be required. However, it is not an easy job in a new place to establish a network and have a lot of competition. On the other hand, people sometimes let go of better job options in other cities or countries where they can start their life again with all the facilities and infrastructure which may not be possible in their hometown. For instance, there are rural areas in India where jobs like IT and Management are not available for several reasons which force their youth to move into urban parts of the country, but sticking to their roots may keep them unemployed. To conclude, it is an individual’s choice to spend their life living close to where they were born, but we should always decide based on the opportunity and the family's needs. If someone is capable enough to keep their family members with them, then staying anywhere on the globe should not be a problem.