Some people believe that university should offer places for people with high marks, Others says that universities accept all age of people even if they do not well at schools. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

A couple of individuals are of the opinion that tertiary institutions should give slots to people with high scores, while the other half says that universities should accept every single age of people even if they do not excel at school. I am of the opinion that universities should accept prospective students irrespective of if they do well or not. A boy or girl can write an entrance exam and fail but he or she might be good at speaking. So I do not think that written exams should be a determinant of a person's ability. However, a person or group of people who score high marks should also be recognized and offered a place because for that person to get a high means that he/she must have put in a lot of work to be able to pass and for universities determination is a very key factor. For instance, the just concluded West African Examination recorded a 70% pass rate and a young boy of about 15 years of age scored really high in Mathematics and English and with this was given a scholarship to study in any higher institution of his choice. This is a case of hard work being recognized. In conclusion, I believe that everyone irrespective of high or low grades should be given a chance at a tertiary institution. While getting good grades is important but there is more to life than being book-smart. Educational institution train students on other aspects of life and it is very crucial for everyone to be given the opportunity to experience it once or more in a lifetime.