In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driver less. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be. Passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

Advancing technologies foster a possible future for autopilot vehicles nowadays. Despite some concerns regarding the safety hazards as well as the increase in the unemployment rate, I am in favour of driverless transportation due to its advantages for societies and individuals. To begin with, the opponents argue that such developments will reduce job opportunities, including the MRT systems in Singapore are mainly controlled by computer programs nowadays, whilst workers play the roles of assistants. On top of that, when encountering emergency situations, the restricted capacity of current technologies could lead to serious incidents. For example, google made various models of driverless vehicles, however, non of them are ready to be introduced into people's daily life based on several car incidents that happened during trials. On the other hand, others suggest that a wide range of usage of autopilot vehicles could actually reduce car accidents caused by drunk driving or destruction. For example, in the USA, Elon Musk build a tunnel recently for driverless cars, which allows users to lie back in their cars on the way to their destination. Moreover, autopilot applied on public transportation could provide 24-hour services without worry for the negative impacts derived from employees who work long-hour shifts. It could not only reduce the costs of running fees for institutions, but ensure safety for passengers. To summarise, it is inevitable that the application of autopilot usage growing in size will replace human roles in transport industries. Reversely, it deters the hazards caused by human action, along with it, enable economic travelling methods. Therefore, in my perspective, the advantages of trends as such overweight the disadvantages.