Nowadays, a lot of offices have open-space designs instead of seperate rooms. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages ?

These days, the structure, design, and interiors of office spaces are given substantial importance. This is because certain kinds of colours, figures, and types of designs help in developing the mindsets of employees. In the contemporary era, many corporates have open-space infrastructures rather than cabins. In my view, the benefits outweigh its drawbacks. This essay will elucidate the pros and cons of this trend and my assertions in the forthcoming paragraphs. Well, there are certain benefits to this type of design, like it helps workers to interact freely with each other. So this helps to build coordination among team members and motivates them to work hard. Moreover, it promotes the feeling of oneness. For example, whether it is a manager or a subordinate if all of them sit together, it demonstrates equality among employees. This helps them to give their best and perform better in the workplace. Thus, open-space structures are better than separate rooms. However, there are certain drawbacks that cannot be ignored. Such open spaces affect privacy to a great extent. For instance, if there is an important deal that is being closed and the numbers cannot be shared with everyone, such spaces act as a con in this scenario. This is because many employees would be exposed to this situation which could affect the confidentiality of the project. Further, these kinds of seating arrangements can affect the focus and concentration of the workforce as they could get very noisy, thereby impacting peace at the workplace. Therefore, cabins could be better at workstations in order to avoid such situations. Having said that, managers can book meeting rooms to discuss such information and the employees can undergo disciplinary training so that these situations can be handled. To conclude, although open offices promote equality and team spirit, they can compromise privacy, and confidentiality and have detrimental effects on efficiency. Hence, even though many offices nowadays prefer open spaces to separate rooms, such structures have merits as well as demerits. Certainly, a lot of attention must be given while deciding on commercial infrastructure as it can influence the employees and impact their work. In my view, the advantages of such spaces indeed outweigh the disadvantages.