Today, TV channels broadcast men’s sports shows more than women’s sport shows. Why is this the case? Should TV channels give equal showtime for each?

It is increasingly common for TV companies to focus more on men ’s sports compared to women. This essay will explain how the rating and public demands highly influence such a trend and highlight why it will continue to do so in the future. To begin with, one of the reasons why TV owners differentiate sports based on gender is due to a higher rating when it comes to men ’s sports. Although sports can be accessed by both men and women, it is without a doubt that sports performance by men tend to be more entertaining due to their physical conditions, thus resulting in a top-notch match between professional players. For example, the male football World Cup is notably more popular than the female version as they attract massive attention from fans globally. As a result, due to a clear gap in rating and public reaction, TV companies decide to focus highly on men ’s sports. Furthermore, TV networks should continue to allocate more showtime for men ’s sports due to the following reasons. The aforementioned trend will be predicted to take place since TV channel is a profitable company, which means that the operation tends to follow market demands. If they broadcast women ’s sports equally with men, it will harm their business strategy since their target market will be discouraged to watch the broadcast anymore, considering that most sports enthusiasts are likely to prefer men ’s sports. To illustrate, if TV channels decide to broadcast basketball games in NBA for both men and women, they might lose the ratings since the fans prefer to watch male tournaments. Consequently, these business operations might result in losing some profits, which is harming the continuity of sporting broadcast. In conclusion, the factor of more exposure in men ’s sports is an increase level of ratings as opposed to that between women. Moreover, considering the needs of TV channels to maintain their profit margins, paying attention more to men ’s sports will continue to operate in the long run.