What are the advantage and disadvantage of leaving your country to live or study abroad

Living or studying abroad becomes more popular in many countries. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this trend. On the one hand, leaving the country to live or study in an overseas environment has numerous benefits. One of the main advantages of this trend is approaching a new culture. Living in a totally new country, lifestyles and meeting many people from other countries may help people become open-minded, more active, develop relationships and cross- culture understanding. For example, a student who learns Culture studies can improve their knowledge through new friends they meet at school or the workplace. That is a good opportunity to broaden their horizons besides theories of the subject. Another factor can be that living in developed countries where the society, the economy, the technology are developed can be beneficial. All of that supports improve quality of life. On the other hand, living or studying abroad may have certain disadvantages that people should take into consideration. There are always two sides to living in new culture, although that is a good opportunity but people may feel disappointed because of culture shock. For example, my sister living in overseas. Getting up at 7 am and having breakfast is her daily routine, but in a new country, markets and restaurants are always open after 9 am so she seems cannot find a meal for breakfast, except for some fast food stores open 24/7. Another negative effect is that living or studying in a new environment can cause psychological problems. Barriers to speaking new languages are the reason people cannot connect with friends when they need help, there are no friends, or family members to support make them feel alone. In conclusion, leaving the country to live or study could bring about certain benefits, but it is negative consequences should not be overlooked. People should have well-prepared knowledge and skills when making decisions.