In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this .

Nowadays, a very common tendency in some countries is that after finishing high school, young people decide to take a sabbatical year before starting university, choosing either to work or travel. In this essay, I will discuss the advantages and disadvantages that this may bring with it. To begin with, a plethora of young teenagers finish school without knowing what they really want to do with their lives, which is why they decide to take a break to work or even to travel in order to clear their minds. For example, I have met numerous young backpackers in Australia from different European countries that were travelling for one year trying to figure out in the meantime what they wanted to do once coming back home. Most of them were satisfied with the experience, as taking some distance from their daily routine contributed to relaxation and thinking clearly. These travellers were excited to start university feeling stronger and more confident with themselves. However, there are also some disadvantages related to taking a gap before University. One of them is the fact that people would start their studies later, which might affect the course ending period, as sometimes people are not too sure about how much time will really take to complete them. In addition to this, taking a break can potentially confuse the person much more than it was before, which can contribute to a waste of time, extending the gap period beyond one year; or getting even worse with the final decision of not studying in the University for lack of confidence or being too old. In conclusion, deciding a sabbatic year between finishing high school and starting University could bring many benefits and opportunities as well as numerous problems in the person's life, passing from exploring the world and yourself with ease and joy to getting confused about who really you are and what really do you want, dropping everything due to lack of motivation and confidence. Despite the benefits and negative impacts, I believe that whatever the young person chooses, it will be the right decision for his life, no matter how good or bad it may impact; life is about living in the way that every person feels like it has to be in that specific moment, being responsible for their own acts.