In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Nowadays, the majority of students decide to have a gap year after finishing their high school. During this year they can work in order to earn money and pay for their tuition fees, travel for expanding their outlook and do other activities. This kind of practice has not only advantages but also some disadvantages, too. In some cases, students do not want to continue their studies after their gap year, however, a few years later they decide to go to the university. And it can be much more difficult for them to start everything again. I concur to think that it is one of the biggest disadvantages of this practice. The second possible disadvantage of not going to university after finishing high school is getting married. Some people during the gap year get pregnant or make a decision to marry someone. Therefore, they can ruin their career, and regret it a few years later. A gap year has lots of advantages, such as expanding your outlook, and learning about new cultures and languages thanks to travelling. Also, you can be able to meet all your expenses by yourself. In some cases students decide to change their life path, their future profession, into something that they are really fond of. Also, I would like to mention that the majority of universities can accept you after a year without any additional examinations, which is great, in my opinion. To sum up, I concur to think that a gap year can be a great experience for young people, but in this,case they will lose one year of their life. I mean it is possible for them to travel and work while studying at the university. In spite of this, I think that the number of people who choose a gap year will increase in the future.