In several countries around the world students take a year off between high school and university in order to travel, work or volunteer. However, in most countries students go straight to university after graduating. Discuss both approaches and give your opinion about which is better.

These days in many countries, pupils take off a year before starting university education in order to explore and work. While, in most countries, they start their higher education in university right after their schooling. In this essay, These paths are beneficial to students because the first one gives you a chance to find the stream that interests you most and gain some valuable experience, while the latter point offers you to follow the goal you already have without further due. In my view, I think that a year off before starting further education is better because it gives you an opportunity to learn, earn and become a mature individual. In almost all Asian countries, students do not take a year off between their schooling and university education because of the education systems that they are surrounded by, and they have fixed goals that they want to pursue in their tertiary education. In India, for example, almost all undergraduates are already aware of what they are going to study after schooling, which is why they do not waste a huge amount of time before entering into Bachelor's or Master's degrees. This helps them in accomplishing their graduation earlier. However, I believe that it is better to have a gap to think, learn and gain some valuable experience, which would make them overall wise students. In many Western countries, most high school students do not go to university right after their schooling. They take their time to travelling different places to figure out the interest stream that they want to pursue. They also work at restaurants or at Charitable trusts to gain valuable experiences and to learn different things. Some people work for money too in order to support themselves with tuition fees. In Canada, it is very obvious to see native adolescents working at Macdonalds and restaurants. They are also seen doing volunteering work, like collecting donations for Child Care Trust in public places. This teaches us communication skills and makes us overall responsible individuals. I think that taking a year off allows students to explore and find their talents, besides getting valuable work experience. In conclusion, a year off ahead of the university education gives students a chance to travel and work to find their hidden talents, while without taking a year off, students can save time to complete their university degrees earlier. I believe that taking time before moving towards higher education is very important to find our interests and skills.