In several countries around the world, students take a year off between high school and university in order to travel, work or volunteer. However, in most countries, students go straight to university after graduating. Discuss both approaches and give your opinion about which is better.

These days in many countries, pupils take off a year before starting a university education to explore and work. While in most countries, they start their higher education at university right after schooling. In this essay, These paths benefit students because the first one allows you to find the stream that interests you most and gain valuable experience. At the same time, the latter point offers you to follow your goal without further due. In my view, I think that a year off before starting further education is better because it allows you to learn, earn and become a mature individual. In almost all Asian countries, students do not take a year off between their schooling and university education because of the education systems they are surrounded by, and they have fixed goals that they want to pursue in their tertiary education. In India, for example, almost all undergraduates are already aware of what they will study after schooling, which is why they do not waste a lot of time before entering into Bachelor's or Master's degrees. This helps them accomplish their graduation earlier. However, I believe it is better to have a gap between thinking, learning and gaining valuable experience, making them overall wise students. In many Western countries, most high school students do not go to university right after their schooling. They travel to different places to figure out the interest stream they want to pursue. They also work at restaurants or Charitable trusts to gain valuable experiences and learn other things. Some people also work for money to support themselves with tuition fees. In Canada, it is obvious to see native adolescents working at Macdonalds and restaurants. They are also seen doing volunteering work, like collecting donations for Child Care Trust in public places. This teaches us communication skills and makes us overall responsible individuals. Taking a year off allows students to explore and find their talents, besides getting valuable work experience. In conclusion, a year off before a university education allows students to travel and work to find their hidden talents. In contrast, without taking a year off, students can save time to complete their university degrees earlier. Taking time before pursuing higher education is crucial to finding our interests and skills.