Some people think the only purpose of prison is to punish crime. Others think it has other functions. Discuss the two views and give your opinion.

Recent years bring out the debate among individuals that whether jails are built for punishing bad civilians or whether they have the ability to serve various different purposes as well. In my personal opinion, I support the latter idea of the mentioned statement but will discuss both points of view in the upcoming paragraphs. Starting with, judicial custody act as a symbol of bad consequences for all those people who dare to go against the law and order of a specific country. This is not untrue that individuals of different age groups have a fear of losing their freedom and getting caged in one place for a long period of time. This terror resists them from committing serious crimes to some instincts. Undoubtedly, the prisons are uncomfortable, and strict on people staying there and could be traumatizing in certain cases. It classifies criminals on the basis of the severity of their crime and the duration of their punishment. For instance, a survey taken placed among ex-prisoners in America indicates that 20-25 per cent of them would prefer being dead rather than going back to jail. On the flip side, there are hundreds of cases in the past when individuals got self-aware, learnt how to manage their emotions in unfavourable circumstances and built social relationships with fellow people after spending time in prison. The government does not just capture them but tends to spend resources to make them better members of the community. They get a fair chance to learn different skills such as cooking, construction work, handmade arts and crafts, pottery and gardening so that when they come outside the walls of the custody, they would be able to build an improved lifestyle for themselves and their family members. The Priests or fathers of the church are available to support those who believe in religions and counsellors stay on duty to help them become mentally strong and self-aware. In conclusion, I would like to mention that we cannot give up on our fellow human beings who got distracted from the rightful path. We need to provide them with faith in life and humanity by treating them appropriately so that the world could become a better place to live. If prisons would not act as more than a place of delivering the punishment then nobody would turn around and make a plethora of changes in themselves after spending time there.