Everybody should be allowed admission to university or college programs regardless of their level of academic ability. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience?

Education is a basic requirement for students to be successful in their chosen field. In many cases, the education level required is only possible by attending certification to a recognised educational institution. Typically, admission to university is based on the grades that a student received from high school. However, there is also another pathway to gain admission to the university, and some believe there are programs that should not have academic ability as an entry requirement. In my view, I agree that students should not be allowed to enrol in educational institutions or colleges without a certain level of knowledge or academic ability. Firstly, the conditions of enrolment should require a base level of knowledge to understand basic concepts that are important for every discipline. For example, to become a Registered Nurse, trainees must have finished high school and foundation course subjects such as psychology, mathematics, communication skills and science for health. Without them, trainees would not have the basic understanding to complete the required subjects and become a Nurse Secondly, if undergraduates do have the necessary competencies and learning skills, it is difficult for candidates to understand how to apply the knowledge they are gaining in a practical environment. In nursing, this could mean that they are not able to take apply theory from textbooks to an interaction with a patient. Although, if admission to the academy is only based on grades from previous formal schooling and training, this would restrict opportunities for students who would be able to meet the requirements through hard work. In particular, a student's unique situation may have impacted their results in high school but they still have the potential to complete a university education. In summary, institutions of higher learning should allow applications that are eligible to gain background information on the campus after thorough skills assessments so that deserving contestants would be enrolled.