Some people think that video games are advantageous, while others believe video games are harmful to the people who play them. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is sometimes argued that playing video games brings more harm than benefits, while some are of the belief that its benefits should not be overlooked. In this essay, I will attempt to discuss both opinions. On one hand, opposite to the common belief, science suggests that playing computer games could offer a plethora of benefits for brain development. Many studies have shown that those who engage in this activity, demonstrate superior executive function. They produce better results in problem-solving, abstract thinking and planning tests, which is associated with extensive usage of the pre-frontal cortex in the course of solving puzzles in games. Additionally, it has been observed that surgeons who actively play video games, acquire stronger hand-eye coordination and perform better in surgeries. Furthermore, many view video games as a great getaway from daily life and an easy route to be submerged into the world of imagination and endless possibilities. On the other hand, it is impossible to dismiss the arguments against playing video games as a hobby. Because of how extremely addictive it is, it is highly likely for individuals to waste countless hours doing it and that could especially harm the children, because if they don’t engage in other activities that are essential for their brain and body’s development, they might eventually lack in their adulthood. Moreover, if it is not practised with caution even by adults, it might lead to disruptions in daily routines and possibly hurt people’s business and family life. In conclusion, I would argue that gaming should not be considered a liability, as it can be beneficial in developing problem-solving abilities and abstract thinking and is also an interesting way of winding down and being distant from the daily grind. However, it is crucial to keep in mind that it has a great potential for overuse and interference with other tasks and activities. Therefore it needs to be done in moderation so that it does not turn into a means of wasting time.