Some universities will deduct marks from student’s work if it is submitted late. What is your opinion on this and what other action can solve this problem?

It is true that some colleges will deduct marks from students work that is submitted late. People hold divergent views about the issue and whether other better measures to deal with it. To my knowledge, I support that this way has been efficient, but I also think that there are a lot of ways to solve this problem. To begin with, deducting marks for late submission has been taken to prevent them from postponing the work. Although it seems that it is a useful method, there are some negative effects on it. Firstly, deducting marks is only cared by students who are concerned about their academic performance, as a result, others just ignore this and to continue delay the work. Additionally, encouragement is always better than punishment, which means punishment not only dimmish students ’ motivation, but they are stressful. Otherwise, colleges can consider positive alternatives to improve students finishing their assignments on time. To be specific, schools either can encourage students with awards or give positive feedback to those who submit work before the deadline instead of decreasing marks. The positive measures not only are more useful but provide a sense of achievement. Additionally, schools should teach students time management skills to help them efficiently organize their time to meet the deadline of assignments. In conclusion, it seems to me that while deducting marks due to late submission can slightly improve students finishing assignments on time, taking positive measures and teaching time management skills are also significant.